The Method

Every Montessori school specializes in different aspects of a child’s development. Although every Montessori classroom is unique, the following characteristics are at the heart of the Montessori Method.

Prepared Environment:
When we combine the Montessori equipment with child sized tables and chairs, low stimulation and teachers eager to assist the child’s exploration, we call this the prepared environment. After the child has been taught how to use each set of materials, he or she is free to select materials independently and allowed to study his or her chosen materials uninterrupted. The prepared environment will look different at each level of education, but the principles that remain unchanged are order, beauty and simplicity.

Sensitive Periods:
Dr. Montessori determined that each child’s individual development occurred systematically in predictable steps roughly according to age. She organized these steps into four planes and contained within the planes are “sensitive periods.” A Montessori education respects, enhances and utilizes the individual child’s natural evolution through these planes.

First Plane: Absorptive Period (Birth to 3) & Sensorial Period (3 – 6 years)

Second Plane: Intellectual or Conceptual (6 – 12 years)

Third Plane: Humanistic (12 – 18 years)

Fourth Plane: Specialization (18 – 24 years)